top of page
  • Writer's pictureHaley Kemper

Serious Series

I don't know about you, but my students are always asking me, "Ms. K, what book comes next in the ____________ series?" and I will take them to the books and show them how to check the inside pages to find the series list, or to look at the publication dates to determine which book was published first.


Thanks to an idea I saw on Pinterest, I decided to make a huge Google Doc with all of the popular series in our library, listing the books in order. I have over 45 pages of series lists and plan to print them and put them in a binder that is easily accessible by students.


Despite not being the first goal of this time-consuming project, these series lists have also been extremely helpful in our collection analysis and consequential collection development. This is the beginning of my second year at AISB and without having done this series list, I would have continued to assume that our series were mostly, if not all complete. Instead I was shocked to see that we had many series with books 3, 5, and 18 or books 2 and 3 but not 1 and 4. It was surprising to see how many incomplete series we had and the bulk of our next book order is adding to and replacing missing copies of these sets!





0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page